FIFA World Cup Teams

FIFA World Cup Teams


The FIFA World Cup is an international quadrennial football tournament between the senior men’s national teams of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the governing body of the Football Association, to determine the sport’s world champion.

This year the world cup is organised in Qatar.

As of 31st March 2022, 29 countries have qualified for the FIFA World Cup 2022. These countries were selected after winning the UEFA tournament, which consists of 10 groups and decides the participating counties in the FIFA World Cup.

Let’s discuss some of the most critical FIFA World Cup participants.

1. Qatar

The host nation of the 2022 World Cup is making its first appearance in the world cup, with this being the first time an Arab nation is hosting the tournament. The team is controlled by the Qatar Football Association and the AFC. Its FIFA code is QAT.

2. Germany

The German National Football team represents Germany in the men’s national football. The German Football Association governs it. It played its first match in 1908. It is one of the most successful teams in international competitions and won four world cups. Its FIFA code is GER.

  1. Argentina

Argentina’s men’s national football team competes in international football tournaments. Argentina’s national football team, commonly referred to as La Albiceleste, has competed in five finals in World Cups, and won two of them in 1978 and 1986. It is one of only eight teams to have won at least one world championship. Additionally, the country has won 14 Copa America titles, which are awarded to members of the South American football federation. Additionally, it has been a FIFA Confederations Cup and Artemio Franchi Trophy winner.

4. Denmark

The Denmark National Football team represents Denmark in the men’s national football. It is governed by the Danish Football Association(DBU). It won two Olympics silver medals in 1908 and 1912. Its home stadium is Parken Stadium, and its FIFA code is DEN.

5. Brazil

The Brazilian National Football team represents Brazil in the men’s national football. It is governed by the Brazilian Football Cooperation (CBF). It has won the FIFA World Cup the maximum number of times in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002. It is the only team to play all editions of the World Cup without any absence or playoffs. It is also the only team to win the World Cup on four continents. Its FIFA code is BRA. This team has some of the best FIFA world cup players.

6. France

The France National Football team represents France in the men’s national football. It is governed by the French Football Federation (FFF). The team’s colours are blue, white, and red. Its nickname is Les Bleus (The Blues). They won the most recent world cup in 2018. In addition, they have won two FIFA cups till now. Its FIFA code is FRA.

7. Belgium

The Belgium National Football team represents Belgium in the men’s national football. It is governed by the Royal Belgian Football Association (RBFA). It is the only national team in FIFA world cup history to top the FIFA ranking without winning a World Cup or a continental trophy. Its FIFA code is BEL.

  1. United States

The American football national team of the United States competes in international football competitions. It is now ranked as the IFAF’s number one country in football. The team has competed in eleven FIFA World Cups, reaching the semi-finals in the inaugural tournament in 1930. The United States competed in the World Cups of 1934 and 1950, winning the latter by a score of 1–0 over England.

  1. Spain

The Spain National Football team has represented Spain in the men’s national football since 1920. The Royal Spanish Football Federation governs it. Its FIFA code is ESP. It won the world cup in 2010. It is the only national team with three consecutive major titles.

  1. England

It is the oldest national team in football and thus one of the oldest FIFA world cup teams. It is administered by the Football Association, affiliated with the UEFA. It won the world cup in 1966. Its home stadium is Wembley Stadium, London. Its FIFA code is ENG.

Other FIFA World Cup countries

Other countries which are a part of FIFA are Serbia , Switzerland ,  Netherlands ,Iran , South Korea , Saudi Arabia , Japan , Ecuador , Uruguay , Canada , Ghana , Senegal , Portugal , Poland , Cameroon , Tunisia , Morocco , Mexico , and others.